Make the investment in mushrooms

image

Perhaps not one of the most talked about practices in homesteading or prepping growing shiitake mushrooms is a great skill to take up.

The pre treated logs are minimal in cost when you consider how much just one 4 oz container at the supermarket

I got logs a great guy I met at one of the local farmers markets. Those of you who listen to my show know I will always be a chef at heart. So it should come as no surprise that scooping up some logs inoculated with shiitake spores was right up my alley.

I got them home, stacked them up and watered often. However, one year into the thing I had logs with fungus growing on them but not the kind I wanted! I put them out back of my fence and forgot about them for a while.

About a month ago I went out to tend the compost heap and came across a monstrous cap the size of a full grown portabello. It was an overgrown shiitake. An anomaly I thought but I decided to keep an eye on them.  Soon I was seein a few more. Then I employed a technique called “knocking”  which involves dropping them from a height or wacking them with a stick. This shakes up the spores inside and basically turns the log on.

Shiitakes are incredible little mushrooms and even if you don’t want to get cute and saute them with your duck breast and some baby carrots shiitakes dry great. The dry shiitake has been a staple of the Chinese cuisine probably before Ming. I love them sliced thin and sauteed or even quartered. Add them to your chicken soup to beef up the flavor of your broth.

I thought they failed me and maybe I failed them or maybe I didn’t have the patience.  I renounced them on the air and I have to take it back. Mushroom logs are a great investment. A food source that requires nothing but water and shade. No fertilizer, feed, or any cleaning or weeding.

Think it over.

This entry was published on October 7, 2013 at 12:24 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

